Department History

The Department of Soil Science is one of seven Departments in the Faculty of Agriculture, Forestry and Wildlife Resources Management, University of Calabar, Calabar. The Soil Science programme commenced in the 1986/87 session with a view to developing Soil Science as applied Science in its own right, with its own set of tools and techniques. The graduates of the Department are awarded B. Agric Degrees in Soil Science. The Soil Science programme exposes students to more practical training in the laboratory and in the field; this gives the graduates sound knowledge of soils that could help them solve both agronomic and environmental problems.

The Department of Soil Science was created during the 1986/87 Session out of the Department of Agronomy (1981/82 to 1985/86). Since then, the Heads of Department included Prof. Ambika Singh, Dr. I. J. Ibanga, Prof. Eno J. Udo, Prof. Marian G. Solomon, Prof. Uche C. Amalu and Dr. Ackley U. Akpan-Idiok, Dr. Olanrewaju S. Bello, Dr. Nkereuwem M. John, Prof. A. Egrinya Eneji and Dr. Otobong B. Iren.

The Department of Soil science has the following area of specialization:

  • Pedology, Soil Survey, Mapping and Land Use Planning
  • Soil Fertility, Fertilizers & Plant Nutrition
  • Soil Chemistry and Mineralogy
  • Soil & Water Conservation & Land Management
  • Soil Physics, Rehabilitation and Amelioration
  • Soil Biology & Land Pollution Control
  • Hydrology
  • Irrigation & Drainage