Department History

The Department of Crop Science, University of Calabar, came into existence in the1986/1987 Academic Year when the former Department of Agronomy was split into two new departments namely, Crop Science and Soil Science. Since then, the Department of Crop Science has continued to carry out effectively tripartite roles of teaching, research and community services.

The academic programme for undergraduates which runs for five years is designed to impact on students, modern agricultural techniques in crop husbandry, crop protection and plant genetics/breeding. The first set of students admitted into the Department graduated after five years with B. Sc. Agric (crop Science) in 1991.

The Department has been under the headship of different administrators with the Late Professor B.F.D Oko as the pioneer and longest serving Head of Department. Other succeeding heads of the Department are Professor F.B Okokon (1990-1991, 1996-1998), Professor S.B.A Umoetok (2000 - 2002), Dr Ephraim Onoku Osai (2002-2004, 2008 - 2010), Dr D.F Uwah (2004 - 2006), Dr G.A Iwo (2006 - 2008), Dr J.O Shiyam (2010 – 2012), Dr A.E Uko ()2012 – 2014 and Dr F.A Nwagwu (2014 - date).